Baltidome Blog | Baltimore Green News


Sonar Recycles
October 6, 2009, 11:54 am
Filed under: News | Tags: ,

Sonar_Recycling

As someone who enjoys live music, I find that the joy I get from going to shows is often tempered by the incredible waste that can be found at such events.  So, I must commend Sonar, a music venue in Baltimore, for offering recycling to its concert goers.  Perhaps a bit too integrated and too cool for school to be largely effective (I saw more people using the receptacle as a bench than a disposal unit), it was nonetheless exciting to recently discover.  Thanks Sonar!

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Its not a big surprise sonar has a recycling bin, with the recent introduction of single strea recycling for the city, there is not reason not to recycle. As well, since trash pickups have been cut down, offering recycling bins makes sense because otherwise trash piles up for the venue. That said, I’m personally not that impressed, as far as baby steps go, recycling bins are pretty weak tea. What would really show a bit of inspiration would be to only use biodegradable products and offer compost receptacles (http://www.envirelation.com/main_page.html) so your waste is truely being used propperly. As it turns out (for the grocery store I used to work at at the very least) compost pickup is generally cheaper than trash pickup, because the company doing the composting is making money off the final product.

Comment by Iandanger

I blog frequently and I really appreciate your content.
Your article has really peaked my interest.
I will bookmark your blog and keep checking for new
information about once per week. I subscribed to
your Feed too.

Comment by hauling




Leave a Reply

